janet fisher~writer

Following strong women through history

At the Fair

Janet FairA surge of heat gripped Roseburg during the Douglas County Fair last week, making us authors happy to be in one of the few air-conditioned buildings at the fairgrounds.

Here I am at the Author Table surrounded by props for my two books, The Shifting Winds and A Place of Her Own, doing my best to keep cool.

My expectation of ideal weather didn’t quite work out. The forecast looked good when I promised pleasant days in my last blog post, but by the time the fair started, the numbers had ticked up dramatically. Sorry if I misled anyone.

More traffic than usual passed by our table in the foyer of the Community Hall, I think, as folks sought refuge from temperatures running into the high 90s and 100s.

My writer friends and I had many good conversations with passersby and sold some books. Through banners, posters, and a notebook filled with pictures and brief descriptions, I offered a glimpse into my stories.

After the scorching sun slunk behind the hills, I ventured out for fair food and checking the exhibits. No little piggies this year. Probably a good thing. We might have had cooked piglet. But I enjoyed seeing lots of other animals, as well as all the fine displays of the handiwork of children and adults.

COMMENT

2 Comments

  1. Looking good! It would be fascinating to peruse your scrapbooks. How fun!

    • Hey, Jaina! Good to hear from you. I enjoy doing the pictures and try to get at least some of them on the blog. It was fun putting together the notebook.

